Photo: Dan Winters (Courtesy of Verve Forecast)

T Bone Burnett Announces New Solo Album ‘The Other Side’, Releases Spellbinding ‘Waiting For You’

T Bone Burnett is a legend in the world of Americana and blues, gaining acclaim for his productions for film, television and other artists – yet Burnett also boasts an impressive solo career of his own. Beginning in 1972 with album The B-52 Band & the Fabulous Skylarks and then picking up with a number of acclaimed albums in the eighties and a smattering of releases onwards. Now the musician makes a welcome return to this solo career with new single Waiting For You and upcoming album The Other Side.

Burnett co-produced the album with Colin Linden and Mike Piersante, and it features contributions from Weyes Blood, Lucius, Rosanne Cash, and Steven Soles. The album was triggered by the purchase of new guitars with Burnett sharing: “Every time I picked one up, a song would pour out of it. There were all these songs in these guitars, and they just came out over a three-week period.”

The musician adds: “I view the purpose of art as creating conscience, so I was constantly appealing to people’s consciences. I realized when a songwriter uses the word you, he is, of course, in the world of conscience, but he’s also in the world of people’s dreams. And when you enter into people’s dreams, you have to be very careful with them.”

The album arrives on April 19th courtesy of Verve Records. See the tracklist below:

The Other Side
01 “He Came Down”
02 “Come Back (When You Go Away)”
03 “(I’m Gonna Get Over This) Some Day” (Feat. Rosanne Cash)
04 “Waiting For You” (Feat. Lucius)
05 “The Pain Of Love” (Feat. Lucius)
06 “The Race Is Won” (Feat. Lucius)
07 “Sometimes I Wonder” (Feat. Weyes Blood)
08 “Hawaiian Blue Song” (Feat. Steven Soles)
09 “The First Light Of Day”
10 “Everything And Nothing”
11 “The Town That Time Forgot”
12 “Little Darling”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *