Soul Legends The Flirtations Ready ‘Still Sounds Like the Flirtations’, Drop New Single ‘Take It Back’

Soul legends The Flirtations were fixtures of the sixties pop scene with their anthem Nothing But a Heartache which subsequently lead to tours with the likes of Stevie Wonder, Tom Jones, The Four Tops and The Temptations. The track would be a firm Northern Soul favourite and gain a new lease of life through remixes in the 2020s. Now the legendary girlgroup return with new album Still Sounds Like the Flirtations – a play on their debut album title Sounds Like the Flirtations.

The new album, scheduled for a Record Store Day 2024 release on the 20th of April. Their forthcoming album, which was produced, engineered, mixed, and co-written by Ben Rice (Joan Osborne, Valerie June), Earnestine Pearce, Shirley Pearce, and Viola Billups aka Pearly Gates tell the stories of their lives.

A press release shares: “Drawing inspiration from the churn of personal, social, and political situations that they have lived through over the past five decades, they capture a timeless and well-earned perspective on love and life.”

It continues: “The record, which features the Dap King horns, contains standout tracks, including the reflective call to action “Memories”, co-written by Stevie Wonder; the hopeful love song “Ain’t No Easy Way” and the instant dance floor hit “Didn’t Anybody Tell You”, both co-written by Grammy-nominated songwriter Gian Stone (John Legend, Meghan Trainor); the uplifting groover “Love Somebody”; and the roaring “Take It Back”, co-written by Dave Sherman (Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds, Elle King).”

The Flirtations release Take It Back this weekend, produced by Ben Rice, and co-written by Ben Rice, Dave “Moose” Sherman, Earnestine Pearce, Shirley Pearce and Viola Billups. The number feels like its been lifted from the band’s sixties output in the best possible way, classic feel-good orchestral production, impeccable vocals and lyrics filled with hope.

Track List for ‘Still Sounds Like the Flirtations’:
01. Love Somebody
02. Didn’t Anybody Tell You
03. Ain’t No Easy Way
04. Memories
05. You Don’t Live Here Anymore
06. (Keep Chasing) Blue Skies
07. Take It Back
08. No One Does It Like You
09. Life Is Like A Mountain
10. Thought I Knew You

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *