Photo Credit: Oscar J Ryan

Shaznay Lewis Delivers High Energy R&B Anthem ‘Good Mourning’ with Shola Ama & General Levy

All Saints icon Shaznay Lewis edges closer to her second solo album, Pages, with her latest track Good Mourning in which she recruits R&B talents Shola Ama and General Levy. The number follows Kiss of Life and Miracle as pre-release tracks, both of which have gained airplay from BBC Radio 2.

Good Mourning is slick, contemporary R&B at its best with Shaznay’s distinctive vocal against a drum and bass flavoured beat from producer Michael Angelo.

Shaznay says, “The chorus is, ‘I don’t want to be lonely,’ it is laying out the rules of what you don’t want. We all want to be loved, but sometimes we sacrifice love and can end up feeling loneliness within a relationship. It’s about finding happiness through self-love and the understanding of self-worth.”

Shaznay will be delivering Pages, her full-length album in 2024, with collaborators including Ben Cullum, Michael Angelo, Johan Hugo, Jez Ashurst, Moyses Dos Santos and Charlie Stacey. Not to mention a high profile collaboration with the fantastic Self Esteem.

Describing Pages, a press release notes: “‘Pages’ is a lush masterpiece of psychedelic soul, cinematic strings and sophisticated R&B that combines her established songwriting with the kind of lyrical wisdom which can only come from experience. Coming from someone blessed with deep vocal expressiveness, someone with an avowed “allergy to auto-tune,” it is also a reminder of what real soul sounds like. Its lyrics often feel like a diaristic confessional, as loneliness, heartbreak and the bittersweet realities of life abound. They come from distant memories of being in such situations and of empathising with others’ struggles, all magnified by the big stage drama that Shaznay loves in music. Collectively it’s a rebirth.” See the tracklist below:

1. Missiles
2. Pick You Up featuring Self Esteem
3. Kiss of Life
4. Good Mourning featuring Shola Ama & General Levy
5. Supposed To Be
6. Got To Let Go
7. Tears To The Floor
8. Bruises
9. Peaches
10. Awake (Motu)
11. Miracle
12. Hearts In Danger

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *