Sophie Ellis-Bextor Releases ‘Everything is Sweet’, Ahead of New Album ‘HANA’

Fresh from her lead single Breaking the Circle, Sophie Ellis-Bextor releases another new track from her upcoming album HANA arriving June 2nd. The second cut from the LP is Everything is Sweet, written by Ed Harcourt and Sophie – with production from Harcourt.

Like Sophie’s best lyrics, they are tinged with a little melancholy, with the singer-songwriter purring: “Where everything is sweet and lovely / And nothing bad ever happens / Maybe, then, you would love me / And my smile wouldn’t hide the sadness”.

Sophie expands on the meaning behind the number ““Everything is Sweet” is a song about a fantasy world. There’s someone you want to be with, they haven’t noticed you at all and your mind has concocted a dream world where you and that person are together in a utopia. Throughout the song, I’m trying to lure the one I want to enter into the dreamworld with me.”

The album sees Sophie re-team with producer Ed Harcourt. Like previous collaborations Wanderlust and FamiliaHANA is inspired by a new location, East Asia, beginning with the album track ‘Tokyo’ marking Sophie’s first trip to Japan pre-pandemic in 2020.

See the full tracklist below:

  1. A Thousand Orchids
  2. Breaking The Circle
  3. Until The Wheels Fall Off
  4. Everything Is Sweet
  5. Lost In The Sunshine
  6. Tokyo
  7. Beyond The Universe
  8. He’s a Dreamer
  9. Reflections
  10. Hearing In Colour
  11. Broken Toy
  12. We’ve Been Watching You

You can pre-order the album here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *