Jake Shears Drops Amber Martin Collab ‘Devil Came Down the Dance Floor’ from Upcoming New Album

Jake Shears gives us the next taste of his upcoming sophomore solo album Last Man Dancing with his new track Devil Came Down the Dance Floor featuring Amber Martin. Jake co-writes the high energy dance number with Alexander Ridha, Amber Martin, and Michael Cheever with the track featuring production from Cheever and Ridha.

Jake shared the track with a tribute to his collaborator, country music star Amber Martin: “To say that @msambermartin is a power-house is an understatement. She is a Power-FACTORY of Pelvic-Floor-Defying Funk and Belting Bravado. She is also one of my dearest friends, thank the lord— and without her, this song would never have reached its Demonic Heights. I present to you: ‘Devil Came Down the Dance Floor’ featuring Amber Martin. Welcome to Hell.”

Devil Came Down the Dance Floor is the perfect bridge from Shears’ first solo album with its New Orleans country-tinged sound to his more dance-flavoured high energy pop expected in his second solo record.

A press release shares: “Jake Shears turns his lifelong love affair with club culture into his most ambitious pop music to date with his brand new album, Last Man Dancing. The new album sees the rollerblade his way unapologetically through pop culture. The album was brought to vivid life by Jake Shears and a close crew of collaborators, including head-turning features from Kylie Minogue, Jane Fonda, Amber Martin, and a pre-Renaissance turn from the iconic Big Freedia.”

Jake will be support the album with three UK shows:

May 30 – Glasgow, SWG3
June 1 – Brighton
June 2 – London

See the full tracklist below:

  1. Too Much Music
  2. Do the Television
  3. Voices (feat. Kylie Minogue)
  4. I Used To Be In Love
  5. Really Big Deal
  6. Last Man Dancing
  7. 8 Ball (feat. Le Chev)
  8. Devil Came Down the Dance Floor (feat. Amber Martin)
  9. Mess of Me
  10. Doses (feat. Big Freedia)
  11. Radio Eyes
  12. Diamonds Don’t Burn

Last Man Dancing is scheduled to be released in a variety of bundles and formats. You can get details here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *