The Cactus Blossoms and Jenny Lewis Debut ‘Everybody’ Ahead of New Album ‘One Day’

The Cactus Blossoms combine forces with singer-songwriter Jenny Lewis on their new single Everybody. The track is the second taste of the Minneapolis duo’s upcoming album One Day which is scheduled for release February 11th 2022 and will also feature previous single Hey Baby.

Jack Torrey of The Cactus Blossoms shares: “Have you ever heard the saying “everyone is just doing the best they can?’, I wanted to put that idea into a song. It started out as a kind of sad one-sided story, but when I heard it in my head as a back and forth between two people and imagined Jenny singing the lines it became something different. I’m so glad she was up for it, because without her I don’t think it would have the hopefulness that I was looking for.”

The single released through Walkie Talkie Records captures that sense of rallying together that got many of us through the past few years, with the fusion of Jenny’s vocals and The Cactus Blossom’s traditional sound capturing a sense of the collaborative spirit that many of us encountered.

Album One Day was written and recorded during the early stages of the pandemic and is said to “explore the tension between optimism and despair that’s defined much of the past few years of American life, examining the power (or naïveté, depending on your perspective) of positive thinking in the face of chaos and uncertainty,” notes a press release. The full album tracklist can be seen below.

One Day Tracklist:
01) Hey Baby
02) One Day
03) Is It Over
04) Everybody (featuring Jenny Lewis)
05) Runaway
06) Ballad Of An Unknown
07) Not The Only One
08) Love Tomorrow
09) Lonely Heart
10) I Could Almost Cry
11) If I Saw You