Gossip Return With New Single ‘Crazy Again’, Rick Rubin Produced Album ‘Real Power’

Real Power is on the menu for March 22nd 2024 as Beth Ditto fronted pop-rockers Gossip return with their brand new studio album. The first full set from the band since 2012’s A Joyful Noise is spearheaded by new single Crazy Again which, like the full album, sees the band collaborate with Rick Rubin.

Gossip spoke to NME about working with Rubin: “Getting to work with Rick again was a true gift. He doesn’t remotely care about outside opinions around what you could or should be making. He creates calm, positive, open spaces—emotional space and the actual physical vibe of his studio—that make you free to experiment.”

The added: “We felt genuinely cared about and supported. We’re both such maniacs, he’s amazing at helping us focus the chaos. We were writing like crazy, there are probably 30-40 songs and bits of things that came out of it, just throwing everything against the wall and having the best time! It’s not only about music, Rick helps you connect with yourself and everything else comes out of that. It’s a deep jam. We trust him completely.”

The new album was recorded at Rubin’s home studio between the COVID pandemic and lockdown, and is described in its press release as “an 11-track celebration of creative expression, and the power of chosen family in the  aftermath of collective and personal trauma”.

In the years during their hiatus, Beth recorded solo album Fake Sugar.

Real Power: Tracklist

01 Act of God
02 Real Power
03 Don’t Be Afraid
04 Crazy Again
05 Edge of the Sun
06 Give It Up for Love
07 Turn the Card
08 Tell Me Something
09 Light It Up
10 Tough
11 Peace and Quiet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *