Róisín Murphy Announces New Album ‘Hit Parade’ Due September, Reveals ‘The Universe’

Róisín Murphy delivered a revelation with 2020’s scintillating Róisín Machine and has thankfully not kept us waiting too long for its successor, dubbed Hit Parade. Arriving September 8th 2023, the Irish avant garde electronic star’s latest LP sees her collaborate with DJ Koze and will contain previous single CooCool, as well as today’s freshly dropped The Universe.

The Universe and CooCool have ventured slightly from the balls-to-the-wall dance flavour of the singer’s previous fifth album, instead the former takes a breezy summer sound and injects it with Róisín’s signature charm.

Róisín shared the logistics of collaborating with DJ Koze in an accompanying press release: “The studio in this case was imaginary, in the airspace between Hamburg and London. That meant we were both in a personal, private place when working on the songs. For me that brought out a more intimate approach to the songwriting, I told this album my secrets. For Koze it meant total freedom and absolute focus without the distraction of my presence. He too took a deep dive into himself and I believe that’s why the music is so vibrant and alive. It is just exploding with colour!”

Check out the twelve song tracklist below:

1. What Not To Do
2. CooCool
3. The Universe
4. Hurtz So Bad
5. The House
6. Fader
7. Free Will
8. You Knew
9. Can’t Replicate  
10. Crazy Ants Reprise  
11. Two Ways
12. Eureka

The album is available in a variety of formats here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *