Sophie Ellis-Bextor Unveils New Album ‘HANA’, Drops Single ‘Breaking the Circle’

Sophie Ellis-Bextor has revealed the details of her eagerly awaited new studio album HANA. The new collection is set to move away from the high energy synth of standalone single Hypnotized and the disco grooves of Alcazar cover Crying at the Discotheque which spearheaded Sophie’s recent Kitchen Disco era.

The British singer-songwriter previews the upcoming twelve track set with lead single Breaking the Circle. Sophie shares that “’Breaking the Circle’ is inspired by those late-night moments you have, where you question everything and feel a buzz of adrenaline about what tomorrow might bring. it’s urgent and dramatic and optimistic… the perfect introduction to the new album.”

The album sees Sophie re-team with producer Ed Harcourt. Like previous collaborations Wanderlust and Familia, HANA is inspired by a new location, East Asia, beginning with the album track ‘Tokyo’ marking Sophie’s first trip to Japan pre-pandemic in 2020.

See the full tracklist below:

  1. A Thousand Orchids
  2. Breaking The Circle
  3. Until The Wheels Fall Off
  4. Everything Is Sweet
  5. Lost In The Sunshine
  6. Tokyo
  7. Beyond The Universe
  8. He’s a Dreamer
  9. Reflections
  10. Hearing In Colour
  11. Broken Toy
  12. We’ve Been Watching You

You can pre-order the album here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *