Beverley Knight Delivers New Taste of ‘The Fifth Chapter’ Album, With Dance-Flavoured Single ‘Systematic Overload’

Beverley Knight leans into disco-flavoured dance music on her latest single Systematic Overload. The track delves into some electro-themed imagery for a trippy disco-pop jam in which the British vocalist sounds truly magnetic.

“Systematic Overload is another style departure for me”, explains Beverley. “It’s a colourful, kaleidoscopic sounding modern pop song with the soulful element coming from my vocal and the groove. From the moment I started singing, I was riding the rhythm. I love the tough beats and heavy bass. It’s disco for now, a very different sound for me, but with the high energy I’m used to.”

Systematic Overload is written by Andrei Maria, Lee James, Noelle Scaggs, and Serban Cazan with Cazan also producing the number. The track is set to feature on Beverley’s 29th of September scheduled album The Fifth Chapter.

Beverley shares: “My new album covers the kaleidoscope of my soul influences from disco, R&B, funk, gospel through to northern soul and big ballades. Maintaining a dual career in acting meant that for the first time I stepped back from my usual songwriting to allow some of the world’s greatest songwriters to scribe my thoughts. This album is a true team effort of incredible talents for which I am truly grateful.”

A press release teases some of the collaborations that can be expected from the upcoming set: “Partnering with a wealth of songwriting talent including Diane Warren, Seb Coe, Ollie Green and Andrew Roachford, as well as being co-produced with the likes of Jimmy Hogarth, AC Burrell, Mitch Allen & Josh Cohen/DJ Waldie, Beverley’s first collection of new music in seven years is a spectacular journey through the inspirations that have defined her incredible career.”

See the full tracklist below:

1 Last One on My Mind

2 The One I’m Gonna Love

3 Cold World feat. London Community Gospel Choir

4 Someone Else’s Problem

5 I’m on Fire feat. London Community Gospel Choir

6 Not Prepared for You

7 Queen of Everything

8 A Little Bit of Love

9 Nostalgia

10 Systematic Overload

11 Everything’s Gonna Be Alright feat. London Community Gospel Choir with Mark Knight

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *