Jake Shears Announces New Album ‘Last Man Dancing’, Drops Triumphant Single ‘Too Much Music’

Jake Shears is due to release his long-awaited second studio album this Summer, spearheaded by his freshly dropped single Too Much Music. The queer heartthrob’s latest opus Last Man Dancing arrives on June 2nd, near five years on from his debut self-titled solo album which hit #4 in the UK independent album charts. Jake gathers an all star line-up to support the album including the one and only Kylie Minogue and screen icon Jane Fonda.

A press release shares: “Jake Shears turns his lifelong love affair with club culture into his most ambitious pop music to date with his brand new album, Last Man Dancing. The new album sees the rollerblade his way unapologetically through pop culture. The album was brought to vivid life by Jake Shears and a close crew of collaborators, including head-turning features from Kylie Minogue, Jane Fonda, Amber Martin, and a pre-Renaissance turn from the iconic Big Freedia.”

Too Much Music sees Jake navigate the disco glam-rock sound that he helped revive with Scissor Sisters. The track is described as ‘a life affirming record for anyone who has felt lost – out of love, on a night out, or in the modern world – but kept moving anyway.’ The new single is penned by Jake, Dominic Thomas, Ryland Blackinton and Vaughn Oliver – with production from the latter pair.

It feels truly joyous to have some new Jake music to look forward to after he whet our appetite with his singles Meltdown and Do the Television last year. We’re also thankful for Jake choosing the outfit he did for the cover, something that will look stunning on an enlarged vinyl sleeve. Jake will be support the album with three UK shows:

May 30 – Glasgow, SWG3
June 1 – Brighton
June 2 – London

See the full tracklist below:

  1. Too Much Music
  2. Do the Television
  3. Voices (feat. Kylie Minogue)
  4. I Used To Be In Love
  5. Really Big Deal
  6. Last Man Dancing
  7. 8 Ball (feat. Le Chev)
  8. Devil Came Down the Dance Floor (feat. Amber Martin)
  9. Mess of Me
  10. Doses (feat. Big Freedia)
  11. Radio Eyes
  12. Diamonds Don’t Burn

Last Man Dancing is scheduled to be released in a variety of bundles and formats. You can get details here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *