British Pop Icon Toyah Announces New Album ‘Posh Pop’, Drops Single ‘Levitate’

Toyah Wilcox delivers the long-awaited first taste of new studio album Posh Pop this week. The first single from the British punk-pop-rock queen Levitate is released today, with the singer delivering lashings of edgy charisma on the track which sees her collaborate with Simon Darlow.

The album, Toyah’s 25th album since 1979 and her first studio album since 2008’s In the Court of the Crimson Queen, sees her collaborate with Simon Darlow (guitars, keyboards, cello), Bobby Willcox (guitar) and Jeremy Stacey (drums) on ten tracks.

The album is described as “a strong collection of infectious and affirmative pop songs that are as joyous as they are reflective, from the cosmic groove of “Space Dance”, to the sun-kissed anthem of unity “Summer Of Love”. Posh Pop finds inspiration in “the world we find ourselves in today and touches on the ever-present desire to be ‘famous for fifteen minutes’ a la Andy Warhol, escaping the everyday, but above all staying connected to humankind beyond computer screens and geography.”

See the full tracklist below:

  1. Levitate
  2. Zoom Zoom
  3. The Bride Will Return
  4. Space Dance
  5. Barefoot On Mars
  6. Rhythm In The House
  7. Summer Of Love
  8. Monkeys
  9. Kill The Rage
  10. Take Me Home