Olly Murs Returns With Single ‘Die of a Broken Heart’, Upcoming Album ‘Marry Me’

Olly Murs has kept his profile high in recent years thanks to his recurring gig on The Voice and various presenting duties, however his most recent album was back in 2018 – a relatively long time ago considering the singer used to drop an album every two years. The wait is now over as the singer is back with an upcoming album titled Marry Me after having signed to EMI. Scheduled for a release December 2nd, the LP is preceded by freshly dropped single Die of a Broken Heart.

Marking a shift from the cheeky chappy up-tempo pop that became Olly’s speciality, the latest single marks a shift to a Sting-influenced mid-tempo. Packing steel drum and world music flavours, Olly croons “So if you leave me now, I think I’d die of a broken heart, I think I’d die of a broken heart tonight…” in the chorus. The track is written by David Stewart and Olly Murs with production from Stewart also.

On the single, Olly notes: “It has that steel drum at the intro, which just gets in your head straight away. It has a very Gotye, ‘Somebody I Used to Know’ feel to it, with a touch of The Police – and just a coolness to it. That really excited me.”

For the album Olly works with David Stewart and Jessica Agombar as his sole writing collaborators, he shares: “I’ve never done this before. It felt weird writing with the same people constantly. But I loved the routine, and the consistency. We just kept writing good songs. They had a great vibe and an enthusiasm, and a hunger.”

See the full tracklist below. Order the album here.

1) ‘Die Of A Broken Heart’

2) ‘I Found Her’

3) ‘Go Ghost’

4) ’25’

5) ‘Dancing On Cars’

6) ‘Do Me Like That’

7) ‘Marry Me’

8) ‘Best Night Of Your Life’

9) ‘I Hate You When You’re Drunk’

10) ‘Don’t Stop Dancing’

11) ‘Let Me Just Say’

Lead photo: Edward Cooke

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *