Pop Icon Debbie Gibson Returns With New Song ‘One Step Closer’, Ahead of ‘The Body Remembers’ Album

Debbie Gibson adds to her multitude of hits with new dancefloor anthem One Step Closer – set to feature on her upcoming original studio album The Body Remembers. The August 20th release will be Debbie’s first collection of original music since 2001’s M.Y.O.B album.

The singer shared that she was drawn to upbeat pop when recording the album: “I was writing both upbeats and ballads, but I was gravitating toward the upbeats just because everybody needs that energy shift now. Pop music does that — it shifts energy. That’s where the title comes from — the body remembers all the visceral moments tied to your favourite pop songs.”

One Step Closer is undeniable feel good anthem – bolstered by anthemic production from Debbie, Tracy Young and Sean Thomas. Debbie also writes the track which sees her sing “You lit me up when baby, You called me crazy, But, man you saved me, Now I’m one step closer to love…” in the song which sees her overcome adversity to find love.

Debbie has already given us a taster of the first couple of tracks from the album including the high energy Girls Night Out and Joey McIntyre duet Lost In Your Eyes. Check out the full tracklist below:

  1. One Step Closer
  2. Runway
  3. Love Don’t Care
  4. The Body Remembers
  5. Lost in Your Eyes (duet with Joey McIntyre)
  6. Strings
  7. Legendary
  8. Freedom (featuring DJ Ashba)
  9. Girls Night Out
  10. Dance 4U
  11. What Are We Gonna Do?
  12. LuvU2Much
  13. Red Carpet Ready
  14. Tell Me Love
  15. Me Not Loving You