Music: The Three Degrees Announce New Album ‘Strategy’

This is exciting! One of the world’s most loved female vocal groups, The Three Degrees, have announced their first studio album since 1993 and its a joyful celebration of their native Philadelphia.

The album, titled Strategy – Our Tribute To Philadelphia, will be released on the Cherry Red label and feature the ladies’ own renditions of some soul and disco favourites. Here’s the official statement:

“Strategy (Our Tribute To Philadelphia) is The Three Degrees’ first new studio album for a quarter century and features the trio’s own very personal tribute to timeless anthems such as The O’Jays’ ‘Love Train,’ The Trammps’ ‘Disco Inferno,’ Billy Paul’s classic with a standout gender switch to ‘Me & Mr. Jones’ and the exciting title track, popularized by Archie Bell & The Drells, along with a new recording of the group’s own ’70s hit, ‘T.S.O.P.’ The album was recorded in 2015 with a top-flight band and a proper orchestra at Down In Deep Studios in Atlanta, GA.”

The Three Degrees gave us such hits as When Will I See You Again, The Runner, Jump the Gun, Woman in Love and TSOP (which is revisited here). The current line-up consists of Helen Scott, Valerie Holiday and Freddie Pool.

The album hits stores March 4th. Pre-order here. See the tracklist below:

1. Strategy
2. Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now
3. Me and Mr. Jones
4. Love Train
5. Disco Inferno
6. If You Don’t Know Me By Now
7. Don’t Leave Me This Way
8. You’ll Never Find Another Love
9. T.S.O.P. (the Sound of Philadelphia)