Orville Peck Drops Four New Tracks, Announces ‘Bronco’ Album for April 8th, and Releases Video For ‘C’mon Baby, Cry’

Orville Peck delivers his long-awaited second studio album Bronco this April 8th, with the fifteen track collection being preceded by a four track EP dubbed Chapter 1 giving us a taste of the album’s lead single C’mon Baby, Cry and a few others.

Peck describes the album as his “most impassioned and authentic album to date,” something which can be felt in the woozy nostalgic country flavours of the lead single. Peck co-writes C’mon Baby, Cry with Christopher Stracey and Tobias Jesso Jr., with Jay Joyce producing. The result is a melancholic Roy Orbison style country ode to heartbreak.

The masked country crooner adds: “I was inspired by country rock, 60s & 70s psychedelic, California and even bluegrass with everything being anchored in country. Bronco is all about being unrestrained and the culmination of a year of touring, writing in isolation and going through and ultimately emerging from a challenging personal time.”

Atmospheric opener Daytona Sand also features on the EP which packs a Springsteen flavoured energy, with twinkling percussion in the production. The moody slow-burner Outta Time also features on Chapter 1 as well as rip-roaring, barnstorning Any Turn.

See the full tracklist below. The album can be ordered from Rough Trade here.

  1. Daytona Sand
  2. The Curse of the Blackened Eye
  3. Outta Time
  4. Lafayette
  5. C’mon Baby, Cry
  6. Iris Rose
  7. Kalahari Down
  8. Bronco
  9. Trample Out the Days
  10. Blush
  11. Hexie Mountains
  12. Let Me Drown
  13. Any Turn
  14. City of Gold
  15. All I Can Say

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *