Josef Salvat Advocates for ‘Promiscuity’ on Free-Spirited New Anthem from His Upcoming ‘Islands’ Album

“When there’s nothing to do cause the whole world is screwed you just gotta let go / Whether you’re 18 or 80 / It’s never too late just give it a go/ Promiscuity…” Josef Salvat sings against Prince-inspired basslines and pounding drum machines on Promiscuity, the latest taste of his upcoming album Islands.

Josef teams-up with Joakim ‘Jarly’ Jarl, John Martin and Michel Zitron to co-write the track, with production from Jarly. The production immediately screams of Prince’s sexed-up funk, Josef brings his own natural swagger and confidence to fun this free-spirited anthem.

The singer has already given us a taste of the upcoming 18th of February 2022 scheduled album with The Drum and I’m Sorry with the music shining as some of Josef’s most enjoyable yet. On the upcoming album, the Aussie talent shares: “I think some of the best songs I’ve ever written are on this record. Some of the funnest, freest music. Even when there’s sadness it’s more a wistful understanding. There’s an acceptance and forgiveness of past fuckery and moving on. I’m proud of all of my albums for different reasons but I think Islands is my best.” He goes on to say “I’ve made the most major label album while not being on a major label. I think that’s because when I was on a major label I was really trying to keep hold of credibility. But I chose to have that now – I’m not waiting for other people to give it to me. I love pop music and it’s what I wanted to make.”

Check out the full tracklist below:

  1. I’m Sorry
  2. Promiscuity
  3. The Drum
  4. So Lite
  5. Pleasure Pain
  6. Sunbeams
  7. Honey on the Tongue
  8. Happy
  9. Billion Faces
  10. Changes (Without You)
  11. Islands

Pre-order Islands here.