Credit: Baillie Walsh

ABBA Return With Brand New Studio Album ‘Voyage’, Hear Two New Songs Now

Like many, we never thought we would see the day that ABBA returned with new music. Yet the iconic Swedish pop outfit – arguably the greatest pop band of all time – return with two new tracks available now and a full studio album Voyage due for release on November 5th. Singles I Still Have Faith In You and Don’t Shut Me Down are already available to listen to – the video for the former above.

I Still Have Faith In You is a gorgeous rousing ABBA ballad lead by Frida. ABBA’s unmistakable sound is intact near forty years on since their last studio album The Visitors with the track shining as a heartwarming reunion with the world’s favourite band. Taking a more up-tempo approach is Don’t Shut Me Down, a luscious ABBA dancefloor anthem with bouncing multi-instrumental instrumentation and Agnetha and Frida’s vocals capturing those magical ABBA harmonies once again.

Benny shared: “It’s hard to say what’s been the most joyful thing for me with this project. If it’s the involvement in creating the concert together with everyone or being back in the studio together again after 40 years. I think hearing Frida and Agnetha singing again is hard to beat. When you come to the arena you will have the four of us together with an absolutely glorious 10-piece band. And even if not in the flesh, we will be right there, thanks to the work of the creative team and ILM.” 

Frida notes: “Those first sessions back in 2018 were such fun and when Benny called and asked if I’d consider singing some more I jumped at it! And what songs!! My respect and love go out to these exceptionally talented, truly genius songwriters! Such joy it was to work with the group again. I am so happy with what we have made, and I dearly hope our fans feel the same.” 

Whilst she and Frida were not present at the ABBA Voyage press launch on, Agnetha shared in a statement: “When we got back together in the studio I had no idea what to expect…But Benny’s recording studio is such a friendly and safe environment, and before I knew it I was really enjoying myself! I can hardly believe that finally, the moment has come to share this with the world!” 

Björn closes: “They’re such amazing singers those two, I was completely floored by the way they delivered those songs. They’re true musicians; totally unimpressed by pop star glamour but still having a great time being creative in a recording studio. The “Voyage” project has injected new life into us in more ways than one.” 

You can see the full tracklist below:

01 I Still Have Faith in You
02 When You Danced With Me
03 Little Things
04 Don’t Shut Me Down
05 Just a Notion
06 I Can Be That Woman
07 Keep an Eye on Dan
08 Bumblebee
09 No Doubt About It
10 Ode to Freedom

ABBA fans can pre-order Voyage at this link. Concert tickets will go on sale to the public at 10am (UK time) on 07.09.21.