Kacey Musgraves Releases ‘Star-Crossed’ Single, Announces Film and Upcoming Album for September 10th

Kacey Musgraves has announced details of her eagerly awaited fifth studio album Star-Crossed as well as unveiling the heartache-infused title track. With production from Ian Fitchuk and Daniel Tashian, the September 10th scheduled album is thought to draw inspiration from the singer’s recent divorce and subsequent healing.

As well as the release of the fifteen track album, Star-Crossed will be accompanied by a three-act fifty minute film likely to delve into the album’s respective sounds. The feature is set to debut on Paramount+ and is directed by Bardia Zeinali. “We wanted it to feel cinematic and epic without compromising the heart and the emotion,” Zeinali says, “to feel fantastical and heightened and tell her story through the lens of art and fashion.

The title track packs haunting vocal melodies atop each other before unveiling sparse Spanish style guitar as Musgraves opens with the devastating lines “Let me set the scene / Two lovers ripped right at the seams / They woke up from the perfect dream / And then the darkness came.” We’re not sure we are emotionally ready for this album!

star-crossed track listing:

  1. star-crossed
  2. good wife
  3. cherry blossom
  4. simple times
  5. if this was a movie..
  6. justified
  7. angel
  8. breadwinner
  9. camera roll
  10. easier said
  11. hookup scene
  12. keep lookin’ up
  13. what doesn’t kill me
  14. there is a light
  15. gracias a la vida