Kool & the Gang Announce New Album ‘Perfect Union’, Share New Single ‘Pursuit of Happiness’

Kool & the Gang schedule their first original album since 2011 for August 21st teasing the release with new single Pursuit of Happiness. The album titled Perfect Union boasts a sense of hopefulness with the lead single drawing inspiration from Obama’s 2012 re-election campaign.

Kool & the Gang’s Robert “Kool” Bell notes that the single was written by his late brother, Ronald Bell, during the time, sharing: “It was in some ways inspired by that time in history but, even more than that, my brother was inspired to voice the aspirations of so many of the people we meet during our travels to countries all over the world. His co-writers are also the vocalists on the track, Balawah Muhammad and Walt Anderson. Keith Murray heard the track and added his rap and we all loved it.”

The single is accompanied by a bright, animated video which mirrors this sense of optimism and whilst the context of Obama’s re-election may be over, the track’s message of hope still radiates and applies.

Perfect Union Tracklist:

01 Pursuit of Happiness
02 The Weekend
03 Leave It on the Dance Floor
04 High
05 Sexy (Where’d You Get Yours)
06 All to Myself
07 R.O.Y.A.L.T.Y. (Kool & the Gang Mix)
08 Hold On
09 Good Time
10 Pursuit of Happiness (Rap Version)