Will Young Announces New Covers Album ‘Crying on the Bathroom Floor’, Drops New Single ‘Daniel’

“I’ve always enjoyed singing other people’s songs. There is a liberation to it. It’s how I feel when I approach a script. I have reverence for the piece of art and the artist who created it” Will Young notes on his upcoming freshly announced covers album Crying On The Bathroom Floor which is due August 6th.

Will works alongside Richard X on the album, which he describes as a ‘true pop record’ and this can be heard in its first single Daniel, a cover of the Bat For Lashes track. Amongst the other acts covered are Muna, Robyn, Lykke Li, Sky Ferreira, Solange, and the underrated Clare Maguire with the singer refusing to choose anything too obvious.

Will adds: “After 18 years of recording and performing a lot of original material, I loved the idea of creating an album that celebrates some of the modern female artists I so admire in pop. In today’s times it’s so much easier and accepted to occupy other genders, ideas and explore new avenues.” Check out the full tracklist below:

1. Daniel (original by Bat For Lashes)
2. Crying On The Bathroom Floor (original by MUNA)
3. Till There’s Nothing Left (original by Cam)
4. Indestructible (original by Robyn)
5. Strong (original by London Grammar)
6. I Follow Rivers (original by Lykke Li)
7. Everything Is Embarrassing (original by Sky Ferreira)
8. Losing You (original by Solange)
9. Missing (original by Everything But The Girl)
10. Elizabeth Taylor (original by Clare Maguire)

The singer will also be embarking on a UK tour in support of the release.

Wednesday 1st September – Glee Club, Cardiff
Thursday 2nd September – St Luke’s, Glasgow
Sunday 5th September– City Varieties, Leeds
Monday 6th September – Earth, London
Tuesday 7th September – Earth, London
Wednesday 8th September – Glee Club, Birmingham

You can pre-order the album on numerous formats here.