Steps Announce New Album ‘What the Future Holds Part 2’, Release Video and Perform With Michelle Visage

Steps fans were fully expecting news of a reissue of their most recent studio album What the Future Holds at some point in 2021 – all the more so after their recent update of Heartbreak in This City with Michelle Visage. However, many were blindsided by the announcement of a brand new studio album which serves as a successor to their November 2020 LP featuring ten new tracks as well as their Heartbreak update.

What the Future Holds Part 2 will be arriving on the 10th of September 2021 – just ahead of their November scheduled arena tour in which they are joined by Sophie Ellis-Bextor. Band member Faye Tozer noted: “While lockdown has been really tough, we were fortunate enough to use the time to record a load of brand-new songs for you all! What originally started as a deluxe version of the album has now become a full new record”. Ian ‘H’ Watkins adds: “Some of our favourites include ‘Take Me For A Ride’ which has a proper 80s vibe (written by Mark Topham and Karl Twigg, who co-wrote One For Sorrow, Stomp and Deeper Shade Of Blue and is their first joint song in nearly two decades) and ‘A Hundred Years of Winter’ which is an icy electronic anthem written by our friend, the brilliant songwriter Darren Hayes from Savage Garden.

However, the name that really has us excited about the track is Swedish Eurovision royalty Thomas G:Son, with Lee noting: “There’s also ‘Living In A Lie’ which reunites us with Thomas G:Son who wrote ‘Something In Your Eyes’ which was a huge fan favourite on Part 1 of the album, and brings classic Steps pop drama and key changes. Another of my favourites is ‘Trouble & Love’ which was written by Fiona Bevan and Carl Ryden who were behind our 2017 comeback single ‘Scared of the Dark.”

There is one track still to be announced on the upcoming album, with our suspicions presuming it is a yet to be finalised collaboration – perhaps with a big name artist or group. We had a hunch it could be Take That given their recent online sessions with Gary Barlow but we are hoping it will be someone a bit more fabulous – maybe Momma Ru will be joining Michelle as a featured guest on the album? You can see the full tracklist below:

  1. Take Me For A Ride
  2. Steps & Michelle Visage – Heartbreak In This City (Single Mix)
  3. Wasted Tears
  4. A Hundred Years of Winter
  5. Living In A Lie
  6. A Million Years
  7. Trouble & Love
  8. Victorious
  9. Kiss Of Life
  10. High
  11. Track 11

Steps, minus iconic member Lisa Scott-Lee performed on The Graham Norton Show this weekend, alongside Michelle Visage. Thankfully LSL was present in the official video for Heartbreak in This City with her scenes filmed remotely in Dubai. You can see that above.

Pre-order the new album here.