Marianne Faithfull Unveils New Spoken Word Album ‘She Walks In Beauty’

Marianne Faithfull has begun her slow COVID recovery and marks this with her first album since 2018’s Negative Capability. The iconic chanteuse and The Ballad of Lucy Jordan songstress collaborated with regular colleague Warren Ellis for new release She Walks In Beauty due for release April 30th.

The singer reads the works of classic romantic poets Shelley, Keats, Byron, Wordsworth, Tennyson, and Thomas, set against instrumentation from the likes of Nick Cave, Brian Eno and Vincent Segal.

Faithfull notes: “I wasn’t in doubt. I’ve been thinking about it for so long, this album, it’s been in my head for so long, I think I really knew exactly what I wanted. I just picked the poems I really loved, and I can’t help but say I think I was very lucky. We got it.” The album feels all the more special as Faithfull’s first since recovering from her hospitalisation in March 2020.

See the full tracklist for Faithfull and Ellis’ collaboration below:

01 She Walks in Beauty
02 The Bridge of Sighs
03 La Belle Dame Sans Merci
04 Ode to a Nightingale
05 Ode to Autumn
06 Ozymandias
07 From the Prelude
08 Surprised by Joy
09 To the Moon
10 So We’ll Go No More a Roving
11 The Lady of Shalott