Mariah Carey Celebrates Female Tennis Legends in the Video for ‘Save the Day’ Ahead of ‘The Rarities’ LP Release

Mariah Carey dropped the elegant Save the Day last month with the track continuing to grow on us as one of the singer’s most impressive lead singles in some time. The Lauryn Hill featuring track also sees The Fugees Killing Me Softly sampled, and will lead Mariah’s upcoming The Rarities compilation coming on October 2nd.

The track has been freshly accompanied by a brand new video celebrating female tennis legends, perfectly timed with the US Open tournament. As well as archive footage of the likes of The Williams Sisters, Martina Navratilova, Sloane Stephens, and Naomi Osaka, the video sees the Elusive Chanteuse performing at the Billie Jean King National Tennis Centre.

The Rarities is a compilation of fan favourites, rare songs and unreleased gems, all hand-picked by Mariah herself. You can see the full-track list below:

1. “Here We Go Around Again” (1990)
2. “Can You Hear Me” (1991)
3. “Do You Think of Me?” (1993)
4. “Everything Fades Away” (1993)
5. “All I Live For” (1993)
6. “One Night” (1995)
7. “Slipping Away” (1996)
8. “Out Here on My Own” (2000)
9. “Loverboy” (2001 – Firecracker Original Version)
10. “I Pray” (2005)
11. “Cool on You” (2007)
12. “Mesmerized” (2012)
13. “Lullaby of Birdland” (2014 – Live)
14. “Save the Day” (2020 – with Lauryn Hill)
15. “Close My Eyes” (2020 – Acoustic)