Sufjan Stevens Announces New Studio Album ‘The Ascension’ Dropping September 25th, Single ‘America’

It’s time to celebrate as Sufjan Stevens has announced new material is arriving incredibly soon in the form of single America (premiering on July 3rd) and album The Ascension released on September 25th. 2020 just got a whole lot better.

The album is written, recorded and produced by Sufjan and is his eighth solo studio album, following 2015’s Carrie & Lowell. This was followed by collaborative LP Planetarium in 2017, ballet soundtrack The Decalogue, and collaborative new age release Aporia earlier this year. Although Sufjan has had a productive few years we are incredibly excited by the thought of his returning to his expected poetic singer-songwriter material work. As for what direction the sound of this may take, we will need to hold off until Friday’s release of new single America. The full tracklist for the new album follows:

1. Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse (5:19)
2. Run Away With Me (4:07)
3. Video Game (4:16)
4. Lamentations (3:42)
5. Tell Me You Love Me (4:22)
6. Die Happy (5:47)
7. Ativan (6:32)
8. Ursa Major (3:43)
9. Landslide (5:04)
10. Gilgamesh (3:50)
11. Death Star (4:04)
12. Goodbye To All That (3:48)
13. Sugar (7:37)

The Ascension will be available on streaming, digital, CD, cassette, 2xLP black vinyl, and first-pressing 2xLP clear vinyl with tip-on gatefold. CD and vinyl include a 16-page booklet of original drawings by Sufjan Stevens. All songs written, recorded and produced by Sufjan Stevens. 

Pre-order here.

Cover art and album design by Sufjan Stevens.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *