Orville Peck Announces ‘Show Pony’ EP, New Track ‘No Glory in the West’

Our gay country boy dreams came true all at once when Orville Peck announced his new EP is dropping in less than two weeks and if that isn’t exciting enough it contains an all star duet. The EP titled Show Pony – perhaps a play on Orville’s debut album title, Pony, hits streaming platforms June 12th and contains six track including previous single Summertime and the freshly dropped No Glory in the West.

Among the six tracks is also what is expected to be a cover of Reba McEntire’s iconic hit Fancy – however, the preceding track is one that has us struggling to function – an expected anthem titled Legends Never Die featuring the one and only Shania Twain. A collaboration between Shania and Orville feels unusual to begin with – Orville who puts a queer spin on classic country sounds, whilst Shania is known for her slick country pop – but both artists have strong LGBTQ fanbases and Orville is undoubtedly a fan of the Canadian country legend.

The full tracklist follows:

  1. Summertime
  2. No Glory in the West
  3. Drive Me, Crazy
  4. Kids
  5. Legends Never Die (with Shania Twain)
  6. Fancy

The video for new track No Glory in the West is also steeped in country and western influences – evocative of cinematic western classics like McCabe and Mrs Miller.

You can pre-order the EP from Orville’s website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *